Skip to content

Help me raise money for Challenged Athletes Foundation!

October 29, 2012

Dear Friends and Family,

As many of you know, I have spent the past year training for Ironman Arizona — I race on November 18! It’s been an incredible journey, both personally and athletically. I’ve been an endurance athlete for years, but until recently an Ironman seemed like a distant dream. It was something I knew I’d love to do someday, but actually doing it seemed daunting and overwhelming. An Ironman involves 2.4 miles swim, 112 miles bike, and 26.2 miles run, all in a single day. Getting from a distant dream to a soon-to-be reality has involved countless hours of swimming, biking, and running, including going from barely finishing a single length of the pool in January to now being able to swim three miles open water in Lake Michigan. Along the way I have learned a lot about my inner strength and self-reliance, pushing my goals beyond where I thought I could. For more on my training, see my training blog (the blog you’re at now!).
I registered for a charity entry to the race, and I was very enthusiastic about that when I first registered last November. Then with the training, that fell by the wayside. Now with race day three weeks away, I’m renewing my commitment to that charity entry. That’s where you come in. I’m writing to ask for a donation in support of my training efforts. I’m first trying to raise my $650 commitment to the Ironman Foundation. The Ironman Foundation supports community organizations in the cities and communities where Ironman races are held. I know a lot of major races “swoop” in on a city and don’t necessarily support the community. So I think it’s really cool to actually help support the community.
But my real goal is to continue raising money after that to donate to Challenged Athletes Foundation. Challenged Athletes Foundation supports athletes with physical disabilities. This includes work through clinics, mentorship, and grants for adaptive equipment. I know what a big difference athletics has made in all areas of my life, and I think the work CAF does is incredible in bringing that gift of athletics to people that would not otherwise have it. I count my blessings that I am able-bodied enough to be able to train for an event like the Ironman, and reap the immense personal, social, and psychological benefits, and I want to use my race to help bring some of those same benefits to others.
I’m also organizing a bar night to help with my fundraising efforts. The bar night will be on Saturday, November 10, at The Call (1547 W Bryn Mawr). If you’re in Chicago, I’d love to see you there. Ask me for more details. I’m organizing a raffle as part of that bar night, and have already obtained some prize donations.
Please donate whatever you are able. Every donation helps. To donate, click here!
Thanks for your support! Help me cross the finish line on November 18!
Jeff
From → fundraising

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

