Skip to content

Registered for the Racine Half Ironman!

January 12, 2012

I just registered for the Racine Half Ironman in July! Woohoo! First race on my 2012 racing / training schedule. It’s in Racine, Wisconsin, easy to get to from Chicago. And several other people from my crossfit gym are going — helpful for both logistics and moral support!

The big downside to Racine is it will be the middle of summer, and potentially really hot. And half Ironman is long enough that there is no way I will be done before mid-day, so I will be out in the worst of the heat. But several upsides at least partially make up for that. It’s four months out from Ironman Arizona. At that point, I’ll be far enough into training to be comfortable at the Half IM distance, but also still have enough time left that I can adjust my training based on how I do in Racine. And of course it’s far enough out that I won’t hurt my lead up to Arizona.

I’ve heard it’s a great course as well. The bike course is described as “rolling hills with some challenging hills mixed in.” Sounds like my kind of terrain! I kind of stopped cycling so much in Chicago because I just got bored with how pancake flat it is. The San Diego boy in me misses the mountains. At least for now I say it sounds like my kind of terrain. We’ll see if I’m still saying that when I get off the bike. And the run course is mostly flat, which will be a relief for the end of the race. Oh, and it has wave starts for the swim, and my age group is right at the start of the waves. Yay!

I still need to figure out the rest of my training schedule. I’m sure I’ll add another 2 or 3 triathlons (probably all shorter distance!). I want to add a marathon or two. But this was the key race to get on the training schedule.

311 days till Ironman Arizona.

From → races, training

4 Comments
  1. Two friends of mine did Racine last year and said it was a great race!

    A marathon or two? That’s pretty intense going into IM AZ. I’ve heard a lot of coaches (including mine) recommend against scheduling marathons leading up to Ironman races because the recovery time is pretty long and can take away from weeks of quality Ironman training. You know what’s best for you, but just thought I’d put that out there.

  2. jbkosbie permalink

    Thanks for the feedback on the marathons. This is my first time doing this, so I’m figuring it out as I go. I guess it might be better to say “I hope to include a marathon or two, but will assess how practical that is.” The group I’m training with is hiring a coach, but we haven’t met with him yet. I love running marathons for the sake of running them, so I might end up compromising by including an early season marathon and just not going all out on it so that I can recover quicker.

  3. Trevor permalink

    Just stumbled on to your post. I signed up for first HM in Racine too. Do you know what the cutoff times are for Racine? I plan to train beyond making times but I also want to know at this point. Good luck in your training, see you in July.

    • Jeff Kosbie permalink

      Hey Trevor, So this post was actually from when I registered for Racine last year ;-). I might do it again this year, but not sure yet. Debating between Racine and Steelhead. In any case, I’m pretty sure the swim cutoff is 1:10. But that is after the last wave starts. Last year I was lucky to be in one of the first waves on the swim, which meant I effectively had much more than 1:10. I’m not sure about the cutoffs on the other events. Good luck training! It’s a fun race.

Leave a Reply

