Skip to content

I need to get outside!

December 23, 2011

Photo: Jeff outside ready to run.

I’ve been spending long hours at my desk recently, with a few key deadlines coming up in mid-January. And sure, my workouts give me a good mental break from studying. But my workouts the last couple weeks have all been at the gym or on the erg at home. And I’m supposed to go in for crossfit again tonight.

But it’s sunny out right now (supposed to snow later today though). So I’m going to take a break from this paper I’m editing and go outside for a run. Sure, it’s a good workout. But it’s also about just being outside. I don’t think I’m even going to wear headphones. Like most runners today, I typically listen to music while I’m out. But every once in a while, I find it relaxing to not listen to music. To let myself really be at one with myself. To hear everything around me.

Hopefully I’ll still make it into crossfit later tonight too. I’ll have at least six hours for my body to rest between workouts, more than enough. I need to finish editing that paper before crossfit, but I think I only have a couple hours of work left. Should be doable. But right now, outside is beckoning. And then after crossfit tonight, I’ll take the whole weekend off. No studying, no working out. Time for family and the holidays!

From → motivation, running

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

